15. March 2016 · Write a comment · Categories: NEWS


tesol-50In keeping with the 50th Anniversary theme “Reflecting Forward,” TESOL has recognized two groups of professionals: 50 who have made significant contributions to the profession within the past 50 years (50 at 50), and 30 who are emerging as leaders in the profession (30 Up and Coming). Congratulations to the selected ones!

50 at 50

Each leader listed below has made a significant contribution to the TESOL profession within the past 50 years. The leaders were selected by the 50th Anniversary Advisory Team from more than 120 nominees.

TESOL International Association congratulates these outstanding TESOL professionals! Their leadership has helped build the association and develop English language teaching and learning into a profession that touches the lives of students and educators worldwide.

James Alatis MaryAnn Christison Virginia French Allen Diane Larsen-Freeman Ulrich (Uli) Schrader
Mark Algren Christine Coombe Gass, Susan Jun Liu Don Snow
Neil Anderson JoAnn (Jodi) Crandall Fred Genesee Mary Lou McCloskey Lydia Stack
Betty Azar David Crystal Judy Gilbert Denise Murray Elaine Tarone
Kathleen Bailey Jim Cummins Margo Gottlieb Suchada Nimmannit Penny Ur
Deena Boraie Andy Curtis Graddol, David Nunan, David Guadalupe Valdes
Brock Brady Keith Folse Carolyn Graham Judith O’Loughlin Aida Walqui
Anne Burns David Freeman Kenji Hakuta Jack Richards Kay Westerfield
Suresh Canagarajah Donald Freeman Robert Kaplan Mary Romney Beth Witt
Marianne Celce-Murcia Yvonne Freeman Stephen Krashen Betty Wallace Robinett Lawrence Zhang

30 Up and Coming

In keeping with TESOL’s 50th Anniversary theme, TESOL acknowledges the next generation in research, teaching, publishing, and leadership. The emerging leaders listed below were chosen by the 50th Anniversary Advisory Team from among 125 nominees.

TESOL International Association congratulates these outstanding TESOL professionals! They will shape the future of both the association and the profession for years to come.

Elena Andrei Ayanna Cooper Tamara Jones Susan Morris-Rutledge Christopher Stillwell
Nikki Ashcraft Arturo de la Vega Joan Kang Shin Barbara Page Evelin Suij-Ojeda
Engin Ayvaz Anne Marie Foerster Luu Gabriela Kleckova Luis Pentón Herrera Shannon Tanghe
Allison Balter Xuesong Gao Harry Kuchah Kuchah Svetlana Podkhomutnikova Heather Tatton-Harris
Kisha Bryan Alsu Gilmetdinova Yingliang Liu David Ruiz Guzman Zuzana Tomaš
Christian Chun Amanda Huensch Trish Morita-Mullaney Ali Fuad Selvi Sasha Wajnryb



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *